Certified Accounting Technician Certificate (CAT)


The CAT qualification is offered on a 12 months basis from January to December and July to June. The CAT qualification level is the preparation stage for the ACCA qualification. Therefore, upon completion there is automatic transfer onto ACCA qualification programme and will be given free exemptions from the first three examinations at Applied Knowledge Skills Module level. That is; Completion of CAT Stage Certificate lead to Applied Skills Module level of the ACCA qualification. There are nine modules in this qualification.


  • LGCSE Minimum of 6 grade C including English and Mathematics or Principles of Accounts.
  • COSC Credit in English and Mathematics or Accounts plus overall aggregate for best six subjects not exceeding 34.

Course Syllabus

CAT Introduction

  • FA1: Recording Financial Transactions
  • MA1: Management Information
  • FA2: Maintaining Financial Records
  • MA2: Managing Costs & Finance
  • FAB: Accountant in Business

CAT Advanced

  • FMA: Management Accounting
  • FFA: Financial Accounting
  • FAU: Foundations in Audit
  • FTX: Foundations in Taxation

Applied Knowledge Module

  • AB: Accountant in Business
  • MA: Management Accounting
  • FA: Financial Accounting